Buddy in Lexington, KY


Here is the pup with his new family…

Meet Buddy! He is a rescue from a puppy mill. This 7-year-old boy was born on 7/18/15 and weighs 22 lbs. He is the sweetest, most loving dog. He is quiet and well-behaved. He is good with cats and dogs and is indifferent to children in a public setting.

Buddy loves the sofa! If he could, he would eat, sleep, and snuggle with his human on the sofa 24/7. He is house-trained and we walk several times a day. Buddy was pretty timid when he first arrived but has slowly come out of his shell. He is good on the leash and loves his walks. Along the way, he loves to meet everyone. He loves other dogs and is glad to stop for a scratch on the head from someone willing to meet him. He also goes to work with his foster mom sometimes where he gets to meet new people and visit with the office staff.  

Buddy does not know how to play with toys and he is not food or treat driven. He sometimes has to be enticed to eat. He sleeps in his crate that is inside an enclosure. Buddy is a sweet, loving dog that wants to please his human. He will snuggle up next to you and look up at you with so much love in his eyes that it will melt your heart. Buddy will thrive in a home where an adult is present most of the time.

Buddy is microchipped, and he was neutered and had a dental while in rescue. Buddy has a grade 2 heart murmur and he will require medication for his heart. He currently takes medicine (Pimobendan) every 12 hours and also takes an omega fatty acid in his food once a day. Buddy also has a cataract in his right eye. The vet does not think that it is affecting his vision significantly and does not foresee surgery at this time.

If you are interested in adding this sweet boy to your family and live within a reasonable driving distance of Lexington, KY, Buddy would love to meet you. Please complete the application online (if you have not already) and contact Rescue Coordinator Emily Greenhill at emilygreenhill@outlook.com so she knows to consider your application.
Online Application

  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 7 Years
  • Weight: 22 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Yes
  • Health: Grade 2 heart murmur, cataract in the right eye
  • Temperament: Quiet, laid back, and cuddly
  • Recommendations: A home with an adult present most of the time where Buddy can get a lot of attention.
  • Location: Lexington, KY
  • Region: Southern
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: JUST ADOPTED