Charlie in Florence, KY

1-22-23: We’ve received several promising applications for this pup so aren’t taking more for now. Thank you!

Hello, my name is Charlie, and I am looking for my forever family. I am an active, healthy 7 year old boy. I am an AKC certified therapy dog and love being around people. I love playing games with people, especially fetch! I get super excited when I realize the throw is coming. I’m most excited by food, though, and I will literally jump through hoops to eat more of it. I’ll always be by your side, because I love my people! I came into rescue after my family had some health complications that made it difficult to care for me. 

I love the company of people and pets, although people are my favorites. Respectful dogs can be fun, but they don’t know how to throw the ball to me, so I tend to gravitate towards people. I had lots of fun with my foster family’s new baby, although I wanted him to throw the tennis balls I gave to him. If I’m not eating or playing fetch, I love to play “soccer” with humans, where they try to softly kick a tennis ball past me.

My foster family has a 4 year old male Cavalier King Charles Spaniel and a 2 year old female Golden Lab mix. I also got to hang out with other dog friends! My foster family says I fit right in with them and have been a sweet friend. I sleep through the night and during relaxing times in the house. 

I am a healthy dog with no known medical issues. My heart and blood work were great and I am up to date on my vaccinations.

Because I’m an AKC certified therapy dog, I’m already very well trained. I know lots of tricks and enjoy putting on fun costumes to make children laugh. It would scare me a little bit when I was left alone in a room, so my foster family worked to help me through that. Food is the best training currency for me, because it is the greatest thing in the world! I am very well trained and know all of the basic commands and more. I can even do special tricks like jumping through a hula hoop and spinning in a circle.

I am potty trained, but I had a couple accidents during my first few days with my foster family. That changed once I got used to being at their house, but you should probably keep a close eye on me and let me outside very regularly when I first come home. After the first couple days, I didn’t have any more accidents.

I’m a very good boy, but I do get nervous when left alone. I would like to find a forever home that can give me plenty of attention and has a large fenced in yard for me to play in. I love toys, and I can’t wait to play fetch with you in the backyard. I love everyone in my family, but I attach to the person that is around me and trains me the most. 

I like having my kennel as my safe zone, but my foster family rarely closes the door on me. I don’t like it when they close the door, because I’m scared when I’m alone. I like to sleep in my kennel, on my dog bed or on the couch. I have been a very good boy. I enjoy playing with my people and going on short walks. I am a very affectionate, loving, easy going fun dog. 

If you live within easy driving distance of my foster home in Florence, KY and are interested in adopting me, contact rescue coordinator Emily Greenhill at emilygreenhill@outlook.com  so she knows to consider your application. Be sure to complete an online application if you haven’t done so before. 

Online Application 

Statistics
  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 7 Years
  • Weight: 22 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Accidents initially but very reliable after learning the house and routine
  • Health: Very healthy and full of energy
  • Temperament: Happy, fun, loving and playful. Fearful when left alone.
  • Recommendations: Adult home where Charlie can receive lots of attention.
  • Location: Florence, KY
  • Region: Southern
  • Special Needs: No
error: