Charlie in Minneapolis, MN


Charlie is a calm, affectionate and handsome gentleman. He was given to Cavalier Rescue USA due to changes in his family circumstances, so we know Charlie is used to living a pampered Cavalier life. If he can’t find a stack of pillows to nap on top of, Charlie loves relaxing on the sofa or napping in his crate.

Charlie is house trained and hasn’t had a single accident since he’s been with his foster mom. He sleeps through the night and loves to be on the big bed with people, but is also content to snooze in his crate. He’s very laid back generally, but he does like to follow his foster mom to the kitchen to oversee all of the cooking (and hope a few crumbs fall on the floor). Charlie is sweet and affectionate, so he wants to be with his people as much as possible.

Charlie is dog friendly but unpredictable with kids. He would be happy to be an only dog, as long as someone can spend most of their time with him each day. Charlie is a big fan of his food, so foster mom has been carefully measuring his meals, as he’s got a bit of extra “padding.”

Charlie is 7 years old, weighs 17 pounds and is healthy. He is neutered and microchipped and up to date on all shots.

Charlie will steal your heart, but his foster mom has noticed that Charlie gets possessive of high value treats (bones, bully sticks, and liver treats) so best not to have these in the home. He’ll growl at other dogs as a warning to keep them away from his treasures. He also growls when his foster mom reaches into his crate when he doesn’t feel like coming out to play. While his foster mom considers these to be fairly normal dog behaviors, potential families should know that Charlie is prepared to assert himself when it comes to treats and his crate. For this reason, Charlie would do best in a dog experienced home without children.

If you are interested in adopting Charlie and live within a reasonable driving distance to Minneapolis, MN, please fill out our online application if you haven’t already and then email Diane Davis Parrish at to let her know you’re interested. Thank you!

Online Application

  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 7 Years
  • Weight: 17 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Yes, reliable
  • Health: Excellent
  • Temperament: Sweet, calm, snuggly
  • Recommendations: No kids, owners home most of the time
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN
  • Region: Central
  • Special Needs: No