Charlie in Walnut Creek, CA

JUST ADOPTED!

Here is Charlie with his new family…

Hi! My name is Charlie and I am being fostered in Walnut Creek, California. I am a super handsome, floofy, 3 year-old (born 04/03/2021), neutered, Blenheim boy who gets along with everyone I meet, whether human or dog. 

I came into rescue because my dad is moving and he could not keep me due to another dog in the new home. They said I didn’t want to play, I just want to snuggle, so they thought I’d be happier in a different home. I do enjoy other dogs! I’m a typical love bug and pile in with my Foster siblings. My foster siblings think I’m super cool and we snuggle together in my foster mom’s lap.

I weigh 23 pounds, and I could lose a little weight. I am ‘big-boned’ so not too far to go. The Vet says I am pretty healthy accept I have a history of pancreatitis; so I am on a special low-fat diet. I am asymptomatic currently, and full of energy, poopies are normal – the vet said I look great and I’m up-to-date on vaccines. I need a home where you are willing and able to continue my special food. The fat percentage is under 9% to keep me regulated and the Veterinary Prescription food, my Low Fat G.I. food runs around $150 per month. I’m SO worth it. My food might have a price, but I’m priceless.

My temperament is great and I get along with people and lots of dogs, all breeds. I don’t know about cats, though.

I like walks, but I pull on the leash. I hope you are strong! My foster mom is working on that with me. I also love walking around the backyard, so a completely fenced yard must be in my future so I can be safe and enjoy. I don’t really play with my foster siblings, but I do stick close to my foster brother in the yard cuz we like sniffing the same things. I am fully crate trained.

My health is great. There is no sign of a heart murmur, my coat looks great, my teeth just have a little tartar (I did not need a dental at this time, but might need one in the next couple years). I eat and drink normally (although I would like more treats, so maybe sweet potato or carrots should be on the treat list).

I am housebroken and have been perfect for my foster parents. I don’t have a dog door here, but I am smart and can learn if my new home has one. I have not had to ask to go out because my foster mom lets me out quite often. I would prefer to be in a home where you work from home or are retired so I can get let out often and spend as much time with you as possible.

I do have a deep, loud bark. I will quiet on command, but don’t be scared when you hear it. I am a sweet boy. I’m just talking to ya!

I am a bit of a jumper, especially when treats are involved. I am big enough that I could push someone elderly or young over, so I need a little training in that department. Speaking of which, I already have two training certificates under my belt and I can shake, sit and lie down! I love doing that cuz it means more treats, maybe that’s why I need to lose weight? Haha!

I must be allowed on your furniture. I sleep in my crate. Sleeping with you though would be heaven. I would love to sleep on the big bed with my humans, but you get to choose what works for you cuz I am just that sweet. 

I eat breakfast and dinner with eagerness, two meals a day.

I love my walks, so the new family will need to be able to walk with me, train me or hire a dog walker because it means so much to me to be out in the world.

If you are interested in adopting this wonderful Cavalier and live within a reasonable driving distance to Walnut Creek, CA, please fill out an adoption application (if you haven’t already) and then email our Northern California Coordinator Jessica Ford at smalldogbath@gmail.com to let her know of your interest.

Online Application

Statistics
  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 3 Years
  • Weight: 23 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Yes
  • Health: Good health all around, Pancreatitis which is currently under control with a prescription diet
  • Location: Walnut Creek, CA
  • Region: Western
  • Special Needs: Yes
  • Status: JUST ADOPTED
error: