Chester in Snohomish, WA

Update 3-26-23: We think we’ve identified a great home for Chester so aren’t taking any more applications for now. Thanks! 

“Hello, my name is Chester and I’m looking for my forever family.

I’m a 6-year-old Tricolor Cavalier King Charles Spaniel that’s full of life. I’m a really good boy and I smile brightly when I’m told that I’m a good boy. I enjoy bringing smiles to those I meet, and I will quickly bond deeply to my family. I will connect especially close to my person that spends the most time with me. I’m looking forward to learning and experiencing new things with my family. I’m always ready to join you for activities or relaxing and cuddling.

I’m looking for a loving, calm family without young children to join. I’m a bit headstrong and would do best with routines and positive reinforcement. I’ve been doing great learning to be calm at feeding time and when my foster family leaves the home. The first couple weeks at my foster home, I was anxious and stressed, but now I’ve learned many ways to remain calm, unstressed and happy. I will need some ongoing support and routines to become my best self.

I’m completely potty trained and I will calmly sleep in a kennel as needed. I haven’t relied on my kennel for comfort since the first week at my foster home. I’ve since been left to roam all day, and I sleep all night on my dog bed next to the big bed. I’ve been a really good boy at my foster home.

I weigh 22 lbs. and am overall a healthy boy overall, but I do have Caudal Occipital Malformation (COMS) with Syringomyelia (SM). This condition affects the neck and spine and often causes phantom nerve pain that’s itchy along with other symptoms. My symptoms are well controlled now with inexpensive medications three times daily. My medications will need to be tweaked as time goes on and during flare ups. 

When I first got to my foster home, I hadn’t been on medications for COMS/SM for a couple of years and was pretty painful. I saw a veterinarian the very next day and got started on medications, which greatly relieved my discomfort. Later, I saw a neurologist and had my medications tweaked, and now I feel great! While I didn’t have an MRI to confirm the COMS/SM diagnosis, the neurologist said my symptoms are consistent with the disease.

My condition doesn’t slow me down, and I enjoy life to the fullest and love having fun! I love running, car rides, playing with my stuffy toys, and above all else I love being with my family. I’m always up for trying new things with you.

At my previous home, I was an only dog. I’m currently enjoying living in a multi pet household at my foster family with two large dogs, two Cavaliers, and kitties. I like gentle, respectful dogs and I quickly became part of my current pack. I also enjoy being around other family dogs that visit.

I do not do well around young children as they make me anxious and can unintentionally hurt me due to my COMS/SM. I had a couple instances of nipping the young grandchildren in my previous home, so a home with children or visiting children is not a good fit for me. I prefer a fenced yard to do my business because the collar can lead to a SM flare, and I do best with my harness for walks.

I’ve had a dental cleaning and also got a cytopoint injection since some of my itching seems to be allergy related. I take Gabapentin for nerve pain and Omeprazole XR to help disperse excess cerebral spinal fluid from my pinched syrinx at the base of my skull. These medications cost about $20/month.

Now that I feel like a new pup, I’m ready to find my forever loving family.”

If you live within driving distance of Snohomish, WA and would like to be considered for Chester’s new home, please complete the online application (if you haven’t done so previously) and also email rescue coordinator Melissa Cincotta at so she knows of your interest in adopting Chester.
Online Application

  • Color: Tricolor
  • Age: 6 Years
  • Weight: 22 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Excellent
  • Health: COMS/SM- takes medications 3x daily
  • Temperament: Happy, loving, playful
  • Recommendations: Adult-only, calm home, fenced yard
  • Location: Snohomish, WA
  • Region: Western
  • Special Needs: No