Emma in Durham, NC


Here is sweet Emma with her new family…

Hi! My name is Emma. I’m the sweetest 12-year-old Cavalier you’ll ever meet. I was surrendered to the shelter when my owners could no longer take care of me. When I arrived at the shelter, I was morbidly obese and wasn’t taken outside to potty. My nails were overgrown and I could barely walk. After a couple nice, warm bubble baths, a pedicure, and shedding some pounds, I’m feeling myself again. My foster mom has put me on a diet, and I have been working out with her. I have lost 5 pounds so far! I love short walks to the mailbox when the weather is nice. Because of my weight, mobility is still a little bit of an issue. I can walk but can’t go up and down more than one stair, so I will need someone that can work with me to lose weight and improve my mobility. A home with little to no stairs would be ideal, or someone strong enough to carry me up and down stairs.

I’m a typical loving Cavalier. I get along great with my foster mom’s 2 year old son. We’re best friends. I would love to go to a home with a kid that has experience around older pups like me. I’ll always let you know by barking when I would like to go outside. If the weather is nice, I like to sit in the grass and sunbathe. I’ll follow you all around the house to make sure we are close together! I like to sleep in my own bed, but in your bedroom at night. I’m very fond of my crate, and I’m crate trained. I’ll also let you know if dinner is running late by asking politely for it. I love head scratches, and I’ll ask for them any opportunity I get.

I had my teeth cleaned recently and I’m feeling good. No vet can believe it, but my heart is in great shape! No murmur at all. I take a supplement to help me with my joints, and sometimes need a doggie NSAID for my arthritis.

I like to be around people, but also get along great with my foster mom’s other 2 Cavaliers. My new home should be one with an owner that is home most of the day. I have so much life left in me, and so much more love to give! If you think you might be a good fit for my new forever family and you live within a reasonable driving distance to Durham, NC, please complete our online application if you haven’t already and then notify Angie Hansing of your interest by emailing her at nccavalierrescuemom@gmail.com

Online Application 

  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 12 Years
  • Weight: 35 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: No issues
  • Health: Need to lose weight
  • Temperament: Typical Cavalier, sweet, loving, social
  • Recommendations: Someone that can help me continue to lose weight. Would be ok with or without another dog.
  • Location: Durham, NC
  • Region: Southern
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: JUST ADOPTED