Emma in Ojai, CA


3-17-23: Here’s a picture of Emma with her new family…

Introducing Miss Emma, otherwise known as Emme, but she also responds to other endearing titles. Emme arrived in foster care at the tender age of just under 4 months old because she was more energetic and spirited than her senior owners could deal with. Her birthdate is 10-12-22. They had forgotten how much work a puppy entails and wanted to ensure she’d find an ideal family that would undertake the puppy raising skills she needs.

In the short time Emme has been in her foster home, she has begun to show her true self. Her foster mom has been working on her potty-training skills and Emme is progressing well. One obstacle at her foster home has been the stairs to the dog yard. But on day two she mastered the stairs both up and down. Emme is such a sweet, athletic girl and a good jumper. She has no problem springing over the entrance to the puppy pen or jumping on the couch. All she really wants is to cuddle up on the couch with her person.

Emme made great strides while being in unfamiliar situations. She needs to continue a variety of socialization exposures out in the world and is eager to be included in positive experiences and outings. Her new family will need to continue to show her lots of patience as she adjusts to new routines. She has a good appetite and will be growing for a while. She has quickly learned to walk nicely on lead. She is crate trained to eat and sleep. When it is time for bed, she zonks right out and sleeps through the night. She loves to play with her toys and chew on a chew stick. She can be vocal at times as she is learning the guidelines and boundaries in her foster home.

At Emme’s rescue exam, the vet said she has a low heart murmur of a grade 2/6 which is not uncommon for her breed. She has received her age-appropriate vaccines and is microchipped. Her future family needs to have the resources for regular lifetime veterinary care as she grows. Emme is not yet spayed due to her age. Her adopting family must agree to have her spayed as a prerequisite to adoption and to provide a Veterinary Statement certifying the procedure has been performed.

Emme has much growing and learning ahead and many ongoing phases of puppyhood await her new family. When considering Emme, please consider whether you will have the time and energy a puppy demands. Emme will require a lot of positive interaction, continued potty-training, positive reinforcement for good doggie behaviors, praise, cuddles, and supervision with patient, consistent direction. All of this and good nutrition are the path to helping Emme blossom into a loving, confident Cavalier. Puppy supplies on her wish list include: x-pen, crate, dog beds, toys, appropriate chew stuff, grooming supplies, harness, leash, collar, and of course an ID tag.

For this pup’s new home, a securely fenced-in yard is a must so this little girl can run off her excess energy, and a work-at-home parent or family member that can be with her most of the day is ideal. Another small, non-dominant dog would be wonderful to help show her the way to good dog protocols. If there are children in the home, they need to be older and puppy savvy considering that Emme is in her teething stage and this may be challenging with younger children. We emphasize that Emme has many puppy stages ahead of her and needs a family who will commit to help her meet her developmental milestones.

Emme is certainly an energetic, fun-loving girl full of puppy shenanigans! If you are interested in adopting Emme and meet what we are looking for in a home for this pup, please read about our Process and then complete the online application if you haven’t already. Then email Donna Beirne at d_beirne@yahoo.com to let her know of your application and interest.
Online Application

  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: Under 1 Year
  • Weight: 11 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Still a work in progress but doing extremely well
  • Health: Overall healthy. Grade 2 heart murmur
  • Temperament: Frisky, love bug, sweet, friendly
  • Recommendations: Securely fenced-in yard
  • Location: Ojai, CA
  • Region: Western
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: JUST ADOPTED