Forrest in San Jose, CA

JUST ADOPTED!

Here is Forrest with his new family…

Hi I’m Forrest! I am a 2 year-old HAPPY, healthy Blenheim boy born January 8, 2020. I have a lot of energy and love to PLAY! I play fetch with my ball and I love getting into my toy box and choosing my favorites. I enjoy a good game of tug-of-war and since I have been in Foster care, I have developed a new favorite play game of “I’m gonna get you” with my Foster Brother. We are having the BEST TIME pulling each-others ears, chasing, playing keep-away and wrestling. Sometimes we growl at each other and sound mean but we are having fun. I can’t wait to have a brother or sister to play with.

I still have puppy tendencies. I might chew on some things here and there. I especially enjoy tags on blankets, pillows, anything with a tag. I also will chew on wicker or cardboard box corners so you will want to keep those things out of my reach. If you have “little things” around the house, legos, chapstick or something, I will pick them up so it’s best I find a home with older kids that don’t have little toys laying around that could get stuck in my throat. I still have some growing up to do since I’m only 2 but I’m a good boy and I love to please. I was raised with 4 cats, so I am cat tested and approved.

I’m pretty perfect except I have a couple little bad habits. Sometimes I eat poopies. I know, to you it’s kinda gross, but to me it’s so tempting. My Foster Mom is giving me so powder stuff in my food to help right now. Cat poopies, dog poopies, my poopies. I’ve been doing this since I was born and so, if you have a big yard, you will have to be with me, ready with a bag in your hand to pick it up immediately or ‘walk me to potty’ every time. If you catch me with it in my mouth and tell me to “leave it” I may drop it for you, I might not. I try to be obedient, I really do. I’d do better in a small yard where you can be close to clean up for me. After it’s cleaned up I do enjoy sniffing around the yard, but mostly want to be inside next to you. If you don’t have a yard it’s OK! A home where we always “walk to potty” would be perfect. If we walk-to-potty there is no chance of me being tempted, the problem is solved and over time my behavior might change cause I’m still young. This situation is ideal. I have been trained to potty when told to do so. I’m VERY good at “pottying on command”. Even if I don’t “have to go” and you want me too, I will always give you a token P, cause I’m such a good boy. I poop right after my meal twice, religiously, So it’s easy to “get me” My Foster Mom says I’m pretty perfect in this way and once she learned my routine, I am super easy to deal with.

I have adjusted very well since I’ve been in Foster care. A little whining the first day, but after that, I felt right at home. I know a lot of commands, even a little German. If I’m in the yard I might ignore the command “come” cause my nose turns my brain off and I get distracted sniffing things.

I am very talkative. I bark, whine, coo, and talk to you. When I want attention I might Woo-Woo-Woo! I have a whole language you will need to learn. My Foster mom said she loves all my little noises and the conversations are great. One thing though, I have a little Vet and car anxiety. I yelp and pull all the way to the car on my leash cause I’m elated we are going somewhere. I can jump up into the seat, straight into my car seat that I’ve had since I was a baby and quiet right down. I want you to always let me keep my car seat. It’s my special seat and I do NOT want to sit anywhere else. I feel safe there. After a few minutes I will sleep the whole ride until you park, cause my seat is special to me. When we ‘get there’ I might have something exciting to say and yelp about it. I’m so excited! At the vet for my intake appointment, I got SO excited I didn’t stop yelping until the Vet took me back. I was completely quiet back there. Once I saw my Foster Mom I talked again, I went back into yelp mode! She was a little embarrassed I think. She said I need more loving exposure so I learn it’s Ok and I can quiet down. Once I’m home, I am back to my normal, fun loving self. I need a home that can work with me with calm energy to help guide me through these little things or you are OK if my behavior doesn’t change. I like to talk – it’s just the way I am!

The Vet gave me a perfect bill of health! Woohoo! Even though I’m really healthy, I tend to have a “funny stomach” and kibble and treats are not my friend. I need “real food”. There is not a kibble I haven’t tried and it always upsets my stomach and gives me the runs. Please don’t put me through that again. I must have home made food in order to keep my poopies firm and stomach calm. My Foster Mom “tested it” and my tummy wasn’t happy so she put me back on my home cooked food and I’m back to normal again FEW! I did well with dehydrated sweet potato treats. Please understand that if you want me in your home, this is my need for the rest of my life. If home made food isn’t something you want to put time into, I do very well on Farmers Dog or Just For Dogs. It is a little pricey though, so making the recipe yourself might be more cost effective. Either way, I’m worth it.

I am crate trained and I want to “go to bed” in my crate every night around 8pm. I don’t really want to ‘be in there’ during the day, but if you make me, I will go. I might cry but I do settle down. I like to pull forward on walks. Even though I pull on a leash for walks, if I decide I don’t want to go anymore, I will slam on the breaks and stop hard. My Foster Mom said it’s funny – but I can’t win – so she picks me up to carry me if I do this.

I don’t like it when other dogs mess with me when I’m eating my special food cause it’s kind of amazing. So If you have a brother or sister for me, you will want to feed us separately. My Foster Mom keeps all her dogs separated during meal time and it’s great. Once I’m done, I’m totally OK if my Foster brothers want to lick my bowl. I like to lick theirs too. Other than that, I’m totally amazing and will love you so hard! I absolutely love jumping up on the couch and standing on you. I’ll get right in your face for a snuggle and want to spend most of the day in your lap sleeping or next to you until it’s playtime again. I really need a family that is home most of the day as that is what I am used to. I love every dog and every human!

If you are ready to love me and have another young fur kid like me, I am a great fit and ready for you. Just fill out the online application if you haven’t already and then contact Rescue Coordinator Jessica Ford at smalldogbath@gmail.com so she knows of your interest. Thank you!

 Online Application

See the pup in action…

Statistics
  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 2 Years
  • Weight: 18 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Potty Trained. Will potty on command.
  • Health: Sensitive Stomach
  • Temperament: Loving, Happy, Playful. Little anxieties with certain things, otherwise amazing and friendly. Likes other dogs and cats.
  • Recommendations: Someone who is home most of the day. Needs a young sibling to play with. Small yard or leash walking. Requires "real food". No Pull harness. Capable of picking him up and carrying him if needed. Able to leash train.
  • Region: Western
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: JUST ADOPTED
error: