Gracie in Tucson, AZ

JUST ADOPTED!

Here is Gracie with her new parents…

Hi, my name is Gracie and my foster mom says I’m a cute little nugget and sweet as all get out. I used to be called Graham, but it’s more of a boy’s name, so Gracie it is. I came to Cavalier Rescue USA when my dad got sick and my family couldn’t take care of me in the way I needed anymore. 

I’m 9 years old and while I like to nap and chill out with the best of them, foster mom says I’m a spunky little number too. I toddle around the house, following foster mom and dad and the other pups, tail wagging and happy, and I have fun being where the action is.

I just want to be with you and am happy to hang out and enjoy family time. I love snuggles and belly rubs and on the couch or the top of it are my favorite spots to be.

Now the bad news, my tickers not so good and I need to take meds for that (Vetmedin, Enalapril and Lasix for around $130-150 a month). I’m told I have a pretty serious heart murmur. I can’t believe the vet said this in front of me, but they are giving me about a year, at best 2 to live. I know I’m hard of hearing, but really people, did you have to tell me this? On top of that, the vet pulled 21  of my teeth out during a dental! Well, okay, I’m a Cavalier, after a couple of biscuits and the knowledge that my meds are now being served in liver sausage, I got over the news quickly and am back to my happy self, but figured you’d want to know. Foster mom says full disclosure is very important. 

Putting this news aside, I enjoy prancing around the yard, but mostly want to be in the house with you, or hang out outside when you are. I’m house-trained but need to go out regularly due to the lasix.

I sleep well through the night, no issues there, but do have to complain that foster mom makes me sleep in a playpen when I’d rather sleep in bed with my people like I was used to. My prior family had children and I loved to snuggle up with one or another of them to sleep at night. 

I was used to being an only dog but am comfortable with the dogs in my foster home. I’ll tell big dogs who is boss (me!) but they don’t take me seriously. The little dogs in my foster home are more my cup of tea. I can go to a home where I’m the only dog or where there are other small dogs as long as I get lots of love and attention.

If you are interested in adopting me and will give me the love and care I need, please fill out our online form if you haven’t already and then get in touch with Carolyn at smallpaws4@mac.com to let her know of your interest. Thank you!

 Online Application

Statistics
  • Color: Ruby
  • Age: 9 Years
  • Weight: 15 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Good
  • Health: Mitral Valve Disease with grade 4-5 murmur requiring meds, hearing impaired
  • Temperament: A love bug, totally sweet, chilled out but also spunky
  • Recommendations: Loving family home much of the time with a fenced in yard
  • Location: Tucson, AZ
  • Region: Western
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: JUST ADOPTED
error: