Holly in Houston, TX

Update 2-21-24: We think we’ve found a great home for this pup so aren’t taking more applications for now.

Holly came into our program because she wasn’t getting along with the young puppies in her previous home. She has been around multiple dogs both large and small in her foster home without any concerns. She doesn’t seek their companionship or show any interest in playing with them. She just wants her space and some attention from her humans. She allows more dominant dogs to get all the attention, so she really deserves to be #1 in her new home!  She is easy going and not demanding. 

Holly has a slight heart murmur that will need to be checked every 6 months. She is not currently on medication, but we started her on some beneficial supplements. She has a healthy appetite and loves certain human foods like pumpkin, green beans, bananas and cheese. (Of course, all in moderation.) She doesn’t have many teeth, but she can eat small kibble and soft treats. 

We believe that Holly has some allergies and have discussed medications with our vet. She is currently being treated with medicated baths, eye drops and ear meds.  She has been switched to a fish and potato diet which seems to help. Holly also requires regular trips to the vet to have her anal glands expressed; however, there has been some improvement with a change in diet. 

Holly prefers to sleep in your bed where she feels safe and secure, but she does snore due to an elongated palate. She sleeps quite a bit during the day as well.  Holly has some hearing loss, but she can still hear loud noises.  

Holly follows you from room to room and can get nervous when you leave. She seems to feel safe with another dog around as long as they respect her space. We think Holly would do well in a home with another older dog as long as she gets her fair share of love and attention! She reportedly does not get along with cats, but she is fine with older children. 

If you live within driving distance of Houston, TX and are interested in welcoming sweet Holly to your home, please email the Houston coordinator at LuckyCavaliersTX@gmail.com to express your interest.  Also, if you have not already done so, please fill out an adoption application.  Thank you!

Online Application 

Statistics
  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 8 Years
  • Weight: 20 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Yes, completely
  • Health: Slight heart murmur, elongated palate, mild allergies, hearing loss
  • Temperament: Quiet, shy, sweet
  • Recommendations: Someone who is home most of the time and wants a companion
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Region: Southern
  • Special Needs: No
error: