Central Region

Scarlett in Mascoutah, IL

My name is Scarlett and I’m as sweet as they come! I was born on January 12th, 2017. I came to Cavalier Rescue USA due to my medical needs and am looking for a very special forever family. I came to rescue when I was diagnosed with Congenital Hydrocephalus.

I am very lucky that Cavalier Rescue USA took me to my wonderful neurologist who quickly performed life saving surgery where he installed a shunt. I am mostly recovered from my surgery, but I take an anti-seizure medication just to make sure I stay okay.

I love playing with my Cavalier foster brother and my cat foster sister! Some of my favorite things to do include playing with soft toys, rope toys, and chewing on antlers. I also really like to shred dried leaves in the fenced yard. I’m such a good girl that my foster family says I never chew on anything that isn’t my toy or leaf! I also like to sit on the couch and lay next to my foster dad. His leg makes a very comfy pillow!

I love to play in the yard and am not leash trained yet, so my forever family should have a nice fenced in yard. I am still a puppy and like to eat sticks, leaves, bugs and anything else I can find outside so I will definitely need to be supervised when outside in the yard.

I almost never bark except for a few times when I’ve been playing with my foster brother. I am still a puppy after all!

I haven’t had any experience with children so small children may not be good for me as the soft spots on my head and bump from my shunt are still susceptible to damage. I love my foster brother and sister so I would like my forever family to have at least one small, gentle dog I can play with and learn from. My foster dad says I love hearing that I’m a “good girl” and am very capable of learning new things!

I’d be best with a family who is home a good part of the day. I am housetrained but it is best to keep me on a schedule. I’ve been sleeping in a crate beside my foster dad’s bed but would love to sleep in my forever family’s bed with them.

As far as my medical needs go, most of the time I seem fine and am a happy little gal, but there are times when I get headaches. My head has a tilt and my eyesight may be mildly degraded because I do run into things until I get the lay of the land. Guess you could say I'm special.

I haven’t let my medical condition slow me down, and I love to play, as well as cuddle. I’m a growing girl at 12 lbs and my foster dad says I’m like a four legged vacuum cleaner at meal times! I’m a darling, playful little girl and cannot wait to find my forever family.

If you are interested in me, please fill out the online adoption application and contact Davonna Sjurseth at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 618-567-8531. We hope to hear from you soon!



  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: less than 1 year old
  • Birthday: 1/12/2017
  • Weight: 12 lbs.
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Yes, needs to be on a schedule
  • Medical Conditions: Congenital Hydrocephalus
  • Temperament: Sweet, playful, a little jumpy
  • Recommendations: Loving home with a physically fenced yard and another small, gentle dog.
  • Location: Mascoutah, IL
  • Region: Central
  • Special Needs: Yes

Additional information