Lady in Port Angeles, WA

Hi! I knew you would stop at my puppy face. Yes, I know that I’m awfully cute!

What do I love? I love to be where you are, get pets, and be next to you until I’m too warm. I love walks, watching outside and letting you know if I see anything. Meal time, healthy treats, belly rubs, and light body massages are also my favorites. And when you smile at me to let me know how much you love me, THAT is the best! Oh, and I do travel very well in the car.

It turns out I’m deaf, and so my foster parents always give me big smiles whenever they look at me because I am such a great pup! They are really funny because they smile a lot when they look at me to help me understand how happy we all are.

I’m 10 years old and have some weight to lose because I am a bit chubby. I’ve lost 3 lbs. already, which brings me down to about 19 lbs, but my ideal weight is closer to 14 lbs. With walks and not overeating, I’ll be able to shed more weight. I love soft food because I don’t have any teeth left, but if the kibble is very tiny and tastes good, I will try that too. I was pretty picky when I first got in my foster home, but they kept trying and finally found the one I liked.

I like my housemates and get along with other dogs I meet, but I’m pretty shy around new people. I seem to be drawn to men first, but I open up and love women too! 

Since I’m deaf, I sleep very soundly and need to be woken up to be sure that I get outside to go potty. I was trained to use a piddle pad until I got to my foster home, and now I go outside to do my business. I have a grade 3 heart murmur and take 2.5mg of Vetmedin twice a day. I’ve got a little head bob that the vet isn’t worried about but good to keep an eye on it.

I’m very calm and happy with a typical Cavalier wagging tail. My groomer says that I am a doll to groom since I’m so calm. If I may say so myself, I have really beautiful full coat!

For my new home, I’d like a relaxed and calm environment without a lot of activity so I can feel safe and secure, preferably with only adults. If you have to leave, I will sleep most of the time. I need a fenced yard and to be on leash at all times since I can’t hear you call me. Please let me learn to trust at my own pace before introducing me to new situations, and don’t put me in situations that are very hectic with a lot of people around trying to pet me. I’ve never met a cat so I’m not sure if I like them or not.

My foster parents think I have been in two homes in my 10 years, and I’m looking forward to finding the special forever home for me as I continue my senior years. My most recent owner was no longer able to take care of me because of their own health issues and that’s why I came into rescue.

If you think I sound like the pup for you, please let us know. Be sure to complete the online application, if you haven’t previously, and then email Melissa Cincotta at

Online Application

  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 10 Years
  • Weight: 19 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Yes, but may need prompting at appropriate intervals
  • Health: Deaf; no teeth; takes Vetmedin for grade 3 heart murmur
  • Temperament: Calm, happy, relaxed once she is comfortable, very shy at first, good with other dogs
  • Recommendations: Calm environment, preferably adult only household, fenced yard
  • Location: Port Angeles, WA
  • Region: Western
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: SPOTLIGHT