Luna in San Antonio, TX

JUST ADOPTED!

Here is Luna with her new family…

Hi! I’m Luna. I am a 5 year old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. I used to be a breeding dog but I left that life behind recently and started my new adventure. And let me tell you, I love adventures! Over the past couple of months I’ve had so many fun, new, things happen. I love to chase squirrels, birds, and just about anything else that moves. My two foster brothers (5 and 8 year old Cavaliers) sometimes join me in the backyard chase, but I’m faster than them! And for some weird reason they don’t seem as interested in all those critters as I do.

I really like going for short walks and I’m learning to walk on a leash. But sometimes I get so excited by the things I see that I just end up stopping and sitting to take it all in. I have learned to use the doggie door in my foster home and it’s exciting that I can go in and out when I want. Everything is new to me and I don’t always know what I need to stay away from, so I still need a lot of guidance.

I hear my foster mom saying I have a lot of “spunk.” I don’t know what that is. All I know is I like to see things, and I like to be on the go! Until I get worn out – then I love snuggling in for a good nap on the sofa. I do not like the crate. And I let everyone know it. At night I sleep in the bedroom in my very own comfy bed. Sometimes I sneak in to my foster brother’s bed when he isn’t using it. 

I don’t mind traveling in the car. Especially when it means there are more adventures! But I’m not always as confident as I try to make it look. New sounds and things can still scare me. It really helps that the humans and dogs in my life are very patient with me. I will need my forever family to continue being patient with me as I learn all about this new and exciting life. I would also do best with a family who will engage in some training with me. I hear my foster brothers talk about all the training they did. It sounds like fun! And they said they got treats for learning things! I love treats!

I am a healthy girl. I weigh just over 17 pounds and the vet said I don’t have any problems with my heart, hips, or eyes. I did spend a long time having a lot of puppies so I’m working on strengthening my back legs by building muscle with all of that chasing I do. I am also going in to have my teeth all cleaned up and I might lose a few. But I know it won’t slow me down one bit! I am up to date on all my vaccines and preventative care. I’m learning to potty outside but it is still a work in progress.

My perfect forever family is one with a fenced backyard, someone home often to continue teaching me new things and take me out for adventures, a family who will work with me (I’d love to do that training my foster brothers talk about), and a home with a similar sized gentle dog. I don’t do well with cats or other animals because I just want to chase them and pretend I am hunting them. I like older gentle children, but sudden movements and a lot of loud noises really scare me.

If you think you are the right home for me. Have your people call my people. Just make sure to submit an online application if you haven’t already. Then, make sure to email Rescue Coordinator Sarah Swanson at 210cavalierrescueusa@gmail.com so she knows of your interest. I hear it’s also best if you live within a reasonable driving distance from where I’m being fostered. I’d love to meet you!

Online Application 

Statistics
  • Color: Black & Tan
  • Age: 5 Years
  • Weight: 17 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Yes
  • Health: Good
  • Temperament: Active, dog and people friendly, spunky
  • Recommendations: Fenced yard, person willing to continue her training, canine playmate
  • Location: San Antonio, TX
  • Region: Southern
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: JUST ADOPTED
error: