Macie in Buffalo Grove, IL

Meet Macie! Macie is a 6-year-old Tricolor Cavalier love bug that was released to Cavalier Rescue USA from a large breeding facility.

Since living with her foster family, Macie has been spayed, had a much needed dental procedure where she lost the majority of her teeth (she had previously lost some teeth before coming to Rescue as well), is up to date on vaccinations, and micro-chipped.

Although she is deaf, Macie’s eyesight is great, and will have no trouble finding you! Macie is a velcro dog, in the best way possible! She thrives off getting attention and having a 24/7 cuddle companion. She also does not let her lack of teeth slow her down!

She would be an excellent fit for a family that has someone that stays at home or works from home where she can lay by your side, or on your lap while you are working. Macie sleeps in a kennel when in the house by herself, and overnight.

As far as house training, Macie has been making tons of progress, and has started swiping at a bell when she wants to go out! She loves long walks and will make 1-2 potty stops on each outing. Now, let’s talk about squirrels: Macie loves squirrels so much that she will run after them full speed to try to play with them. Macie will benefit from having a harness with a leash while walking and will need to go to a home with a secured fenced yard.

Macie is WONDERFUL with children and adults, but would prefer to be the only dog in the home. She would be OK with the occasional doggy visitor and currently lives with another foster Cavalier in her foster home. A home with older children (8+ years) would be recommended. Macie is truly special, and will be a perfect addition for the right family. If you are interested in Macie, please complete our online application, and then email Meg Hutson Eisenmenger at to let her know of your interest.
Online Application

  • Color: Tricolor
  • Age: 6 Years
  • Weight: 14 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Work in progress. Bell training initiated. Does well on walk schedule.
  • Health: Deaf, but no impact to her personality, lifestyle or routine. (Would benefit from learning hand cues for sit, stay, come, etc.)
  • Temperament: Sweet, and extremely social. Prefers to be only dog, but can be evaluated on case by case basis.
  • Recommendations: Someone home most of the time. Older (8+ years) children recommended.
  • Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
  • Region: Central
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: SPOTLIGHT