Maddie in Belchertown, MA

Update 7-16-24: We’ve received several promising applications for this pup so aren’t taking more for now. Thank you!

Hi everyone, I’m Maddie (Madeline). I didn’t get a very good start in life- I’ve been a puppy mill mamma all my life. I didn’t really know anything about having a normal life and loving family. Luckily, I found Cavalier Rescue USA! I’m a petite and very sweet little girl. The vet thinks I’m around 6 years old.

I’ve been in my foster home for a little while and I’m learning new things. I can walk nicely on a leash and I’m learning about going up and down stairs. I’ve only mastered the 3 stairs out the front door- that big set of stairs that goes to the basement is still too scary for me. I’m getting used to people and dogs and I love to say “hi” to everyone on my walks. We’re working on the basic commands too!

I like my cozy crate and go in on my own sometimes. I slept in there at first, then I graduated to sleeping in the crate with the door open, now I just sleep on the big dog bed in the living room or in the bedroom. I’m mostly housebroken –I don’t really ask to go out but if you take me out often, I do great. Right from the beginning I’ve been fine at being left home alone. I don’t get into any trouble or chew anything and I’m not a barker. I’m a very sweet and quiet little girl.

I was just spayed (no more puppies for me) and had my dental. I lost a lot of teeth and I’m feeling much better. I weigh 22 lbs, which is good for me. I’ve had all my vaccines and am on heartworm preventive. I do have a heart murmur (like so many Cavaliers) but I don’t have any restrictions. The vet started me on 2.5 mg of Vetmedin 2 times a day.

I need a home with a patient and loving family who can continue to teach me new things. It would be great to have someone home most of the time who can be there for me and maybe another dog. I don’t have any experience with very young children or cats and can still be a little shy. If you’re an experienced Cavalier owner, looking for a sweet girl and have patience and time to spend, that would be perfect! I’d like a safe fenced in yard where I can explore and have fun running and playing.

If you live within a reasonable driving distance of Belchertown MA and think you’d be a good fit for me, please fill out our on-line application if you haven’t already and then email Rescue Coordinator Barbara Blanchette at blanchettebarbara06@gmail.com so she knows of your interest. Thank you!

Online Application
 

Statistics
  • Color: Tricolor
  • Age: 6 Years
  • Weight: 22 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Almost there! – if you take me out regularly, no accidents to report.
  • Health: Heart murmur – on Vetmedin daily
  • Temperament: Sweet as can be 💕
  • Recommendations: Someone patient and loving – willing to teach me about the good life, fenced yard
  • Location: Belchertown, MA
  • Region: Northeast
  • Special Needs: No
error: