Meg in Hummelstown, PA

Update 11-10-23: We’ve received several promising applications for this pup so aren’t taking more for now. Thank you!

Meg is a 6-year old retired breeding dog born 1/1/2017. She has proven to be gentle, smart, friendly from the start time she came into her foster home. She get along well with the other dogs in the house.

With a little bit of steady work, Meg understood “outside” potty training and rarely has an accident. Rainy days can be problematic as neither Meg or her foster siblings like to get their feet wet!

When Meg first came into rescue she had a large bald patch on her side, most likely caused from rubbing against the crate sides. Her coat was very dry and flaky. Meg now has a beautiful full ruby coat.

During her time in foster care she has lost weight and is perfect at 20 lbs. She has been spayed recently, had a dental, losing a few teeth, and had a mammary tumor removed (which was benign). She is up to date on all vaccinations. She does have a grade 2 out of 6 murmur but this causes her no apparent issues and no medications are needed.

Inside the house Meg is a quiet girl, rarely barking. Outside, Meg has recently found her voice. She lets the world know she has come out. It is not constant though, just amusing. She is used to a securely fenced yard and loves to explore outside.

Meg has been around young children and is very comfortable and not startled. She has not been tested around cats or small animals. She very much likes going for rides in the car and can walk on a leash with ease.

For treats she has learned to enjoy fruits and carrots. She does a beautiful “sit”.  She still needs to be reminded not to jump up with a command of “off.” Meg will go in a crate no problem and is accustomed to sleeping at night in one. She is very non-demanding, just wants your hugs and scratches on her beautiful ruby coat. Meg has one of the fluffiest tails you will ever see! In fact, she doesn’t seem to get mats easily which is a plus.

Meg enjoys her time exploring the back yard to a family with a fenced area is preferred. She gets along well with others and would do well in a home that has another canine companion.

If you you think your family would be a good fit for Meg, and you live within a reasonable driving distance of Hummelstown, PA, let us know. Make sure that you have an updated application on file and reach out to Melissa MacMullin via email ( and ask to be considered to Meg.

Online Application 

  • Color: Ruby
  • Age: 6 Years
  • Weight: 20 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Very good (except on rainy days)
  • Health: Grade 2 murmur (no meds needed)
  • Temperament: Very sweet, easygoing
  • Recommendations: Securely fenced yard, a canine companion in the home
  • Location: Hummelstown, PA
  • Region: Northeast
  • Special Needs: No