Molly in St. Louis, MO

Update 9-22-23: We’ve received several promising applications for this pup so aren’t taking more for now. Thank you!

Pint-sized Molly is believed to be about 3-years-old and a Cavalier mix with possible Dachshund or Chihuahua in her. At only 9 pounds, tiny Molly is as adorable as she is sweet. Her prominent cowlick, affectionate nature, and zest for stealing socks make her even more endearing.

Very little is known about Molly’s early life with a breeder. That time seems to have left her skittish and alert, but hasn’t kept Molly from being a velcro dog and cuddling up on the couch and in the bed in constant contact with the humans. With patience and reassurance, Molly is building trust and confidence.

Molly took her first walk in foster care and was initially confused by the leash. Now she enjoys walks on quiet streets, although she will avoid other humans and dogs. Molly likes tug of war and fetch with a soft toy. She did not know her commands and her tendency to run to safety when approached has made training a bit challenging, but with patience, consistency, and high-value treats, Molly is learning. A secure physically fenced in yard is needed.

Molly has caught on to potty training with frequent outings into a secure yard and lot of positive praise. She does not obviously indicate when she needs to go out so has had a few accidents, but she can go all night without a potty break. Molly co-exists with her Cavalier foster sister but has shown some resource guarding. For that reason, she may do best as an only dog as long as someone is home almost all of the time. Molly is not crate trained.

Due to her size and timidness, she may also be best for a single person or adult-only household. When she came in to rescue Molly had a medical evaluation, her vaccines, a few teeth removed during her dental, and was spayed. Otherwise, she is in great health and has no diagnosed conditions. She is up to date on her heartworm and flea/tick prevention as well.

If you are right for Molly, please complete our online application (if you haven’t already) and email Sarah Noebels at

Online Application

  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 3 Years
  • Weight: 9 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Mostly successful
  • Health: No medical conditions
  • Temperament: Affectionate, shy, calm
  • Recommendations: An individual, couple or adult household where someone is home almost all of the time, securely fenced yard.
  • Location: St. Louis, MO
  • Region: Central
  • Special Needs: No