Murphy in Bixby, OK

Are you interested in a handsome 5-year-old male who loves everybody, other dogs, is housetrained and loves to take walks? Then I am the boy for you! My name is Murphy and I came to rescue because my mom has to move out of state and she said it would not be a good place for me to go with her. I am looking for a new home with a fenced yard and plenty of room for me to take a lot of naps during the day. I am a friendly, happy boy who will follow you wherever you go. I am able to sit and lay down when asked, and know stay, but haven’t used that one as much lately. I will politely wait for an invitation to get on the sofa or bed when you are there. Otherwise I help myself!

Did I mention that I am house trained?  I can go 5 to 6 hours between trips outside, but if I need to, I use a doggie door as well. I love to be outside on walks on my leash and will wait at a curb before crossing if told. I would love to chase any butterfly, bunny, or squirrel I see, but refrain from it on my walks. I also am great in the car and patiently position myself in back for my harness attachment.

I am fully up to date on my vaccinations and heartworm/ flea prevention. I had a dental already this year for my handsome smile. My mom is getting a microchip for me tomorrow, whatever that is! At 55 lbs, I am on the large side for a Cavalier (I love to eat!) but have lost some weight recently. My parents and siblings are smaller size, I just got the big genes! Speaking of eating, I have a condition called Megaesophagus which causes my food and water to come back up a bit if I don’t have elevated bowls.  My mom will send those (and all my other stuff!) with me to make it easier. 

I love to see other dogs, kids and older folks. I can get a bit excited and jump up sometimes, so it is best to be on my leash when first greeting people. I also like to “talk” a bit, not a loud bark but more of a soft “ruh” to greet you. I really love being at home with my mom in her routine. I am with her for morning coffee, naps while she works, and evening TV time. 

I like to sleep in your room on my own bed near the foot of your bed but will go to the living room if asked. Mom says I can snore sometimes and she needs her beauty rest. I really am a great friendly guy, but I do love to sleep a lot! 

If you think you have a great home for Murphy, please fill out an online application you haven’t already and then contact the Coordinator Janis Stauffer at okstauffer@aol.com.

Online Application 

Statistics
  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 5 Years
  • Weight: 55 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Fully with dog door also
  • Health: Megaesophagus controlled with elevated bowls
  • Temperament: Sweet, friendly
  • Recommendations: Fenced yard
  • Location: Bixby, OK
  • Region: Southern
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: SPOTLIGHT
error: