Pumpkin in Cinnaminson, NJ

JUST ADOPTED!
Here is Pumpkin with his new mom…..
 
 
Pumpkin, a sweet 6 month old Cavalier mix born 9/15/21 and his mom, a pretty Blenheim Cavalier, were released from a commercial breeder when Pumpkin was two months old. His breeder owns several breeds and we suspect that his dad was a poodle. They were released because Pumpkin had a severe limp- his left leg would collapse when he would walk or run.
 
 
Pumpkin was diagnosed with grade 4 medial patella luxation in his left leg, grade 2 is his right leg. He had both patellas surgically corrected. He has healed nicely, has full range of motion and can walk and run normally. He is more prone to arthritis in the future so keeping him lean is very important. He currently weighs 11 lbs. A good diet, joint supplements and regular exercise is also a must. Pumpkin is not yet neutered due to his age so his new family will need to have him neutered when he is older.
 
 
Pumpkin can be shy but does better when a canine companion is present, so we are looking for a family that has another dog. Loud noises and sudden movements can be startling, so older, calmer kids are preferred. He loves to run and play in a fenced yard. However he is quite the skilled climber and could easily scale a chain link fence, so a secure fence is required.
 
 
Pumpkin has learned to snuggle from his Cavalier companions. He sleeps in a crate at night would would very much be comfortable with humans or other dogs. He does not like to be left alone for long periods of time.
 
Regular grooming will be a necessity as his non-Cavalier genes cause his hair to grow quickly. Pumpkin would benefit greatly from some basic training classes since he missed important time for socialization due to his post surgical confinement.
 
 
If you think your family would be a good match for Pumpkin and you live within a reasonable driving distance of Cinnaminson, NJ, please make sure you have an updated application on file and then kindly let Melissa MacMullin know if your interest by sending her an email at cavalierrescueusapa@gmail.com.

Online Application

Statistics
  • Weight: 11 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: good, but should be taken out regularly
  • Health: luxating patella which were surgically repaired
  • Temperament: active and sweet
  • Recommendations: secure fenced in yard, family who is home a lot and willing to work on his training and socialization
  • Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
  • Region: Northeast
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: JUST ADOPTED
error: