Raffi in Charlotte, NC

Hi there! My name is Raphael, but my friends call me Raffi! I am a proper 8-year-old gentleman, measuring in on the larger side of my Cavalier King Charles counterparts at 33 lbs—but my vet says I’m big boned and my weight isn’t of concern. I could probably lose a pound or two, but couldn’t we all?! 

Anyway, life has been pretty confusing lately, but I’m being really brave through it all. I lived 8 fantastic years with my former parents until they became unable to properly care for me. I miss them a lot, but thankfully I’ve had a soft landing with my foster family. I’ve warmed up to them quickly, and even politely ask for a snuggle sometimes, but I’d be really grateful to meet my forever family. 

Let me tell you a little about myself. I am the epitome of a distinguished gentleman—a calm boy, loving and loyal to a fault. I very much enjoy a good head scratch or a nice belly rub, but am also perfectly content just hanging out near you. My simple pleasures in life include long naps on the couch, car rides, and treats of all sorts (I don’t discriminate). I’m told I do well on a leash and really like going for walks of moderate length.

I get along with cats and other small-medium sized dogs, so long as they aren’t overly invasive of my personal space. As a proper gentleman, I am tolerant and gentle around children, but I really would really be happiest to find a retiree or two to call my own. 

I sleep all over and I’m told I snore like a freight train. I can typically be found napping in my crate on my own accord, on the couch, or on the patio when it’s not too warm. I currently spend my nights on the couch, but I’m fully crate-trained and don’t mind it in there. I used to sleep in bed with my former family, but my foster sister takes her snoozles with her parents very seriously and I like to be respectful of her boundaries. 

Although I’d be happiest being home with my people all day, I can also be left alone without worrying about whether I’m making a mess or being destructive. I’m not, I’m most likely just napping. 

I do have a grade 3 heart murmur, but it’s very well controlled with medication. I take 2.5mg of Enalapril twice daily, and 5mg of Vetmedin twice daily. I also have some eye lubricant for my dry eyes that I use as part of my morning routine. I eat Fromm kibble in the morning and at dinner time. 

If you’d happen to have room in your home and room in your heart for me, I’d love to be your very best friend. I can’t wait to meet you. Love you already, Raffi. 

If you are interested in being Raffi’s forever home and live within a reasonable driving distance of Charlotte, NC, please complete our online application if you haven’t already and then email Angie Hansing at nccavalierrescuemom@gmail.com so she knows of your interest. Please include your location in your email!

Online Application

 

Statistics
  • Color: Tricolor
  • Age: 8 Years
  • Weight: 33 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Fully house trained
  • Health: Grade 3 heart murmur, takes 2.5 mg of Enalapril and 5 mg of Vetmedin twice daily, dry eye
  • Temperament: Calm, loving, submissive
  • Recommendations: Someone home most of the time, without young children or large/overly playful dogs, fenced in yard
  • Location: Charlotte, NC
  • Region: Southern
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: SPOTLIGHT
error: