Roux in Henrico, VA


HI! My name is Roux, and I am just over a year old. I find myself looking for a new family after my family had some changes and kindly sent me to Cavalier Rescue USA, knowing I would get a great family.

My foster mom says I am all puppy. I love walks, playing with my ball, and cuddles and did I mention walks? I am high-energy but also love a good long hug. I have good manners and will sit and stay, but I could definitely use some gentle reminders, and I would be willing to learn more. My foster mom thinks I would be a great candidate for agility or a comfort dog with the right training.

A few things to know about me. I have some congenital issues with my eye. I went to the ophthalmologist, and she said I have a cataract in one eye and a smaller lens. It doesn’t affect me much now, but I will need to see the ophthalmologist twice a year for my whole life to monitor changes and the cataract progression. I could lose my sight in the eye. Corrective surgery may be possible. Right now, they do not know when that could be as I just got into care.

I am also very skittish and get spooked by even the slightest noise or movement. Even when I am comfortably hanging out, I sometimes hear something and will jump up. My foster mom thinks I would do best in a family of adults to cut down on sudden movements. I will need my new family to be patient with me as I work on my nerves. I love my foster siblings but could also be an only dog as I like to be right next to my family, and sometimes the other dogs in the house get in my way. I will bark when bored, and I have quite a big bark for my small size.

Now let’s talk about my two favorite things. The first is walks. I love walks, it is my favorite time of the day. I currently do 3 walks a day, and that is awesome. I walk very nicely but do like to chase squirrels and will need gentle reminders not to pull on the leash. I should say that while walks are my favorite, the car is very scary for me, but I am trying to be brave so I can go for walks in other locations like the park. My second favorite thing is hugs. I want to be right next to you all the time and love to crawl up into any lap to cuddle. This also means I will follow you everywhere and always be in your personal space.

If you love walks and cuddles, have lots of patience, and think I sound like a good fit for your family, please complete our online application if you haven’t already and then email Virginia Rescue Coordinator Michelle Ouellette at so she knows of your interest.

Online Application

  • Color: Ruby
  • Age: 1 Year
  • Weight: 23 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Yes
  • Health: Congenital cataract
  • Temperament: Easy-going, a bit skittish
  • Recommendations: Quiet house with adults to cuddle with all the time and take lots of walks
  • Location: Henrico, VA
  • Region: Southern
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: JUST ADOPTED