Sully in Lynden, WA

Hi, I’m Sully, but I answer to Captain Sully! I am 3 years old and looking to land in my forever home.

Are you looking for a pup to snuggle with on the couch or in your lap? I am your guy. When it comes to hugs, I LOVE to give and get them, especially if I can wrap my arms around your neck and get a good long one.

My original home became challenging for me after a toddler was introduced to the mix and I ended up hiding in my crate much of the time. I also had a tendency to eat things I shouldn’t and this was worrisome with young children in the house, but the good news is this hasn’t been an issue since arriving in my foster home. Also, I do great with older children and adults as I am a sponge for love! 

I am always happy and wagging my tail. I act like a big puppy, and a good ball chase and retrieve is my jam! I love to play with my Cavalier foster brother and sister and am very social. I think I’d like another playful dog in my new home.

I am learning how to walk on a leash and am getting better each day, but I do pull with enthusiasm. I enjoy my walks around the block meeting and greeting others, in fact I insist on saying “hi.” I would really benefit from a decent walk most days and have no problem walking three miles with my foster family.

I have a blast exploring the backyard, but I always love to return back to my humans when called (especially if there is a treat waiting for me!). And since I like showing off to my humans and being close by their side, you should know that I can jump and get some serious altitude! Baby gates are no match for me! I am told a tall fenced yard is a requirement in my new home.

I respond to “sit” for my snacks and meals, and I would benefit from training classes to learn other basic commands. I am housebroken as long as I have regular potty breaks. I saw the vet and got a good report. I weigh 20 lbs., am neutered, microchipped and up to date on my shots. I do have a little bit of tartar on my teeth that would benefit from a cleaning down the road.

I do great with other dogs and older dog-savvy kids. At my previous home, there was a cat, so it’s possible that I might be okay with a cat in my new home. I’m comfortable sleeping all night in my crate, but if you want to let me onto the bed in the morning, I am the best cuddler this side of Texas!

I am still a puppy at heart and will jump against you, but I remember not to jump up when my person reminds me by turning away. I prefer someone home most of the time as I do have a little bit of separation anxiety. I am generally a quiet boy, but I do bark occasionally if there is some exciting action happening out the front window that I wish I was involved in.

I’m looking for a special family that will appreciate my puppy-like enthusiasm and help me become the best version of myself with some continued basic training. If you live within a 3-hour drive of Lynden and think I sound like the perfect pup for you and you for me, be sure to complete the online application and let the rescue coordinator know by emailing Melissa at

You can read about our adoption process at the following links: Process & FAQ
Online Application

  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 3 Years
  • Weight: 20 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Reliable with regular potty breaks
  • Health: Healthy
  • Temperament: Loving, happy, playful, sweet
  • Recommendations: Securely fenced yard, low alone hours, another playful dog would be great. Needs basic training classes. No young children.
  • Location: Lynden, WA
  • Region: Western
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: SPOTLIGHT