Tessa in St. Peters, MO

Hello everyone! My name is Tessa and I am a gorgeous 5-year-old tricolor girl who is a retired breeder mom. My birthday is 11/25/2017 and I would most definitely enjoy a nice doggie cake when that time comes!

My foster mom says I have come a long way since they’ve had me. I was unsure of everything and everyone when I came to their house. I didn’t even know how to go down two steps to go outside. All noises startled me and I wasn’t even sure how to eat out of a bowl. I wanted to stay in the crate they had for me and my tail stayed tucked all day long.

With a whole lotta’ love and patience I am becoming a brand-new dog! I love being with my foster humans and foster brothers (1 is a Cavalier and 1 is a Dachshund). For the record, I have never been around cats or a big dog. I am so excited when the humans come home that I wag my tail, jump around, and sometimes give them a little bark.

I have learned that small, soft toys are easy to carry around and play with (and drag all over the house when no one is looking)! I sometimes like to take one outside, but it comes right back in with me. (My foster mom wonders if these toys remind me of my babies.)

I love to get on couches but because I have Grade 4 Luxating Patellas, I need someone to put me on it. (Stairs may be good for me, but we haven’t tried them yet.)  The orthopedic vet says I’m in no pain, not lame, and don’t need surgery at this time, but could down the line so please be able and willing to do that for me if needed.

I should mention that I still have some fear when someone tries to pick me up. I will let you know I’m ready by sitting on the floor next to the couch. That’s my “signal” I am ready to be picked up. When you are home, if I am walking around, I’m not ready and will run away if you try. Although I have come a long way, I am still a work in progress. 

When my humans leave, I am left out in the house with my foster brothers and don’t have any accidents or get into anything I shouldn’t. I will let you know I need to go outside by standing at the door, or walking around and not sitting down. 

When it’s night time, I love to sit on the couch with everyone, but I do not need to be touching you. I see my foster brothers do it, but I’m just not there yet. My foster mom spoils me and sets a blanket down on the couch and I’m content to snuggle in that all evening long.

At bed time, I would love to sleep on the big bed with everyone. My foster mom says I can snore like a freight train sometimes! I say it’s because I’m so comfortable now and am able to get into such a deep sleep. 

I love to go outside in the yard with my foster family so she says a fence is necessary. Since so many unknown things still startle me we have not gone on any walks (the leash still scares me), so my forever home will need to work on that. I do love running around the back yard and get plenty of exercise.

I am overweight at 28.6 pounds but we’ve been working on that. My foster mom feeds me twice a day and gives me a “good night treat” a bit before bed. I have lost 2.6 pounds since I came to their house! The vet says to continue doing what we’re doing (which is limiting my calories)! Since coming to Cavalier Rescue USA I have been spayed, brought up to date on vaccines, and am on heart worm and flea/tick preventative. 

As you can see, I have come a long way! I am loving the life of a being a pet and am excited to meet my furever family. If you are interested in adopting me, I would love to meet you. Please complete the online application (if you haven’t already) and also send an email to Sarah Noebels at Cavalierrescuesarah@gmail.com to let her know you’re interested. 

Online Application 

  • Color: Tricolor
  • Age: 5 Years
  • Weight: 28.6 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Excellent
  • Health: Luxating patellas, overweight
  • Temperament: Very sweet and loving
  • Recommendations: A calm, patient home with a person who is home a good part of the day, family who is dedicated to helping Tessa lose weight and stay at a healthy weight, another Cavalier or small friendly dog in the house as she follows their lead, secure physically fenced yard is a must.
  • Location: St. Peters, MO
  • Region: Central
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: SPOTLIGHT