Harley in St. Peters, MO


Here is the pup with his new family…

Hello everyone! My name is Harley and I am a gorgeous 3-year-old tricolor male! My birthday is 08/19/2020 and I am looking forward to celebrating it this year! (A doggie cake would be a lovely addition to the celebration…hint hint.)

My foster mom says I have come a long way since they’ve had me. I was unsure of everything when I came to their home. I was so unsure of humans all I wanted to do was sit in the “house” they made me (because that space was mine) and stare at everyone.  All noises startled me, my tail stayed tucked, I did not move much, I had no idea what a blanket was, and I did not know how to eat out of a bowl. 

With a whole lotta’ love and patience I am becoming a brand-new dog! I can eat out of a bowl, I know what a blanket is (and love it), and my tail wags all the time! I have an amazing personality, love being around people, love sleeping in the sunlight, and love running around the yard! I have been given a new life and I am shedding off (literally) the old one! 😊

I love being with my foster brothers (1 is a Cavalier and 1 is a Dachshund) and follow them around everywhere. (They have taught me everything and I would love my furever home to have fur brothers/sisters to hang with!) For the record, I have never been around a cat or a big dog so I’m not sure how I’ll do with them. 

I have learned that small, soft toys are fun to chew and chew up! (I have accidentally swallowed a few pieces and they’ve come out the other end… if you know what I mean.) I also enjoy bones  now!

I love to sit on the couch but I am not confident enough to jump up there on my own; however, I can jump down. If I lay by the couch or sit and look at you (while you’re on the couch), that’s my “signal” I am ready to be picked up (to join the couch crew)! Note: If I am walking around, I’m not ready to be picked up and will run away if you try. Although I have come a long way, I am still a work in progress.

When my humans leave, I am either left out with my foster brothers or put into my “house” (depending on how long the humans are gone). I do not get into anything so that’s not a worry.  

At bed time, I would love to sleep on the big bed with everyone (I like to snuggle with my foster brothers). My foster mom says I now love blankets (I tend to steal hers), pillows and anything soft and fluffy! 

I love to go outside in the yard with my foster family. My foster mom is unsure if I will attempt to run off exploring, so she says a fence is necessary. Since so many unknown things still startle me we have not gone on any walks (the leash still scares me), so my furever home will need to work on that. I do love running around the back yard and get plenty of exercise. 

Lastly, I am terrified of thunderstorms. My foster mom doesn’t know why, but I will shake and burrow my head into your armpit when I hear thunder. Please make sure to come and get me when there’s a storm as I will be paralyzed with fear wherever I am. 

As you can see, I have come a long way! I am loving life now (the sights, the sounds, the humans) and am excited to meet my furever home. If you are interested in adding me to your family, I would love to meet you.  Please complete the online application (if you haven’t already) and also send an email to Sarah Noebels at Cavalierrescuesarah@gmail.com to let her know you’re interested in me.

Online Application 

  • Color: Tricolor
  • Age: 3 Years
  • Weight: 21 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Excellent
  • Health: Excellent
  • Temperament: Very sweet and loving
  • Recommendations: A calm, patient home with a person who is home a good part of the day, family who is dedicated to helping Harley get over his anxiety and continue to make progress with humans, another Cavalier or small friendly dog in the house as he follows their lead, secure physically fenced yard (a must).
  • Location: St. Peters, MO
  • Region: Central
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: JUST ADOPTED