Poppet in North Plainfield, NJ

Hi! I’m Poppet, a 7 month-old male Blenheim puppy who was born on August 31, 2023. I’m a small little guy for my age and weigh 10 pounds. I came to Cavalier Rescue USA after my owner was no longer able to take care of me. They tell me I’m full of life and have lots of puppy energy! I have a lot of love to give and am looking for a special home who can take care of me.

Did I tell you that I have a lot of puppy energy? Well, one of my favorite activities is to play ball! All balls are my favorite, and it’s so hard to choose. I’ll even chase a ball with one already in my mouth. I also love to zoom around the house and if allowed in the backyard too. I can’t run fast enough! I love to explore the backyard but I’m a puppy so I am curious about everything and will need my new home to make sure I’m watched carefully and not getting into something I shouldn’t. Given my age and size, I’m still working on housetraining, but if I’m taken out regularly I’m pretty good. I won’t signal you if I have to go out, so a schedule is important.

I sleep in an exercise pen at night with a crate, some blankets, a comfy bed, of course my favorite toys, and a pee pad. If I can’t hold it all night, I’ll use the pee pad but most nights I’m totally fine. I’m working on basic commands and pretty much have learned the “sit” command. I’m working on “wait,” but gosh, I just get so excited I can’t wait very long yet.

I do have some health issues and so will need a special family to look after me. When I first came into rescue, I tested positive for Giardia and I’ve had two rounds of treatment to clear it up. I’ve also seen a few vets including a specialist to be evaluated for my breathing. It is thought I have tracheal stenosis/collapsed trachea and possibly BOAS or Brachycephalic obstructive airway syndrome, which is common in breeds like bulldogs, pugs and pekingese with shortened nose and skull. This makes me sound like I’m congested and will be more prominent when I play. I’ll have to be evaluated again when I’m fully grown and may require surgery to fix it, but in the meantime I’m a super happy puppy. Because of this I can only be walked using a harness, can’t go for long or strenuous walks, and I much prefer cooler temps to hot ones so in the summer, walks can only be in the morning or evening and not the peak of the day given the heat. I’m microchipped and up to date on my vaccines and monthly preventives. The vet also said I have grade 1 luxating patella in both back knees but they don’t cause me any problems and will most likely reconcile as I mature. In addition, I will be adopted out on a neuter contract; my new owners must be responsible for getting me neutered around 9 months and provide written verification to rescue. Given my health concerns, I’ll need to be neutered at a location that can properly monitor my breathing.

Apart from all that, I’m a typical Cavalier puppy who loves people, and I am eager to meet my forever home so that I can enjoy lots of cuddles and play. I’ve been in homes with other dogs and cats or where I’m king of the castle and have done well in both settings. I’ve also been around kids and they’re fun, but since I’m still teething right now, playtime with kids should be monitored since I think everything including fingers and toes are chew toys. I would do best with a family that will be able to handle monitoring my exercise and ensuring I stay cool, and committed to getting me reevaluated when I’m fully grown. And don’t forget, I’m a puppy so would love someone around all day to play with me and take me outside. 

If you live within a reasonable driving distance of North Plainfield, NJ and you are interested in adopting this sweet puppy, please email Rebecca Plimpton at beckplimpton@gmail.com and fill out an application if you don’t already have one on file.

Online Application 

  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: Under 1 Year
  • Weight: 10 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: A work in progress!
  • Health: Tracheal stenosis/collapsed trachea and possibly BOAS
  • Temperament: Full of puppy energy, a lovebug, and playful; plays hard and naps hard!
  • Recommendations: A loving and patient family that is home during the day who understands the commitment and time needed to raise a puppy; a family that will be able to monitor and get the required follow-up visits for his health concerns; he can be the only pup or have other resident animals; Fenced yard ideal. 
  • Location: North Plainfield, NJ
  • Region: Northeast
  • Special Needs: No
  • Status: SPOTLIGHT